CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) (Online) | Cleveland State University Professional Development Center in Cleveland


CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) (Online)

Course Description

The CASP exam covers the technical knowledge and skills required to conceptualize, design, and engineer secure solutions across complex enterprise environments. It involves applying critical thinking and judgment across a broad spectrum of security disciplines to propose and implement solutions that map to enterprise drivers while managing risk.

With IT security being the fastest growing sector of IT, if you are looking for marketability towards high paying positions you can add a valuable credential to your resume with the CASP. CASP is a longtime standard for vendor neutral security and will provide you with the skill-sets necessary to work in a variety of areas in the IT Security field. CASP has one of the most thorough sets of topics of any security certification so you will be well versed in a variety of topics including Firewalls, Cryptography, SQL Injection, and many others.

Upon completion of the program, you will be given a voucher to take the CompTIA CASP: Certified Advanced Security Practitioner (CAS-002) certification exam.

Course Content

I.    Module 1: Underlying Security Models
                A.    Course Guide
                B.    Underlying Security Models Parts 1-7
                C.    General Security Part 1 -2
II.    Module 2: Selecting Security
                A.    Selecting Security Products Parts 1 -3
                B.    Control Selection Process Parts 1 -2
III.    Module 3: Cryptography
                A.    Cryptography Symmetric and Asymmetric Parts 1 – 4
                B.    Cryptography Message Integrity Controls Parts 1 – 3
                C.    Cryptography Digital Signatures Part 1 – 2
                D.    Cryptography PKI and PGP Parts 1 – 4
IV.    Module 4: Storage
                A.    Storage Parts 1 -4
V.    Module 5: Virtual Computing
                A.    Virtual Computing
                B.    Cloud Computing Parts 1 – 5
VI.    Module 6: IPv6
                A.    IPV6 Parts 1 – 2
VII.    Module 7: Remote Access Security
                A.    Remote Access Security Parts 1 – 2
VIII.    Module 8: Domain Name System
                A.    Domain Name System Parts 1 – 8
IX.    Module 9: Directory Services
                A.    Directory Services
X.    Module 10: Firewall and VPN
                A.    Firewall and VPN Parts 1 – 4
                B.    Firewall Policy Parts 1 – 4
XI.    Module 11: Security Configuration Management
                A.    Security Configuration Management Parts 1 – 3
XII.    Module 12: Network Infrastructure Security
                A.    Network Infrastructure Security Parts 1 – 4
XIII.    Module 13: Secure Web Services
                A.    Secure Web Services Parts 1 -2
                B.    OWASP top Ten Parts 1 -5
XIV.    Module 14: Buffer Overflows
                A.    Buffer Overflows Parts 1 – 2
XV.    Module 15: SQL Injection
                A.    SQL Injection Parts 1 -2
XVI.    Module 16: Access Control
                A.    Access Control Parts 1 -2
XVII.    Module 17: Single Sign-On
                A.    Single Sign-On Parts 1 – 3
XVIII.    Module 18: Risk Assessment
                A.    Risk Assessment Parts 1 -2
XIX.    Module 19: Testing and Assessment
                A.    Testing and Assessment Parts 1 -3
XX.    Module 20: Common Vulnerability
                A.    Common Vulnerability Scoring System Parts 1 -4
XXI.    Module 21: Common Criteria
                A.    Common Criteria Parts 1 – 5
XXII.    Module 22: Personally Identifiable Information
                A.    Personally Identifiable Information Parts 1 – 2
XXIII.    Module 23: Risk Management
                A.    Risk Management Parts 1 – 3
XXIV.    Module 24: Frameworks
                A.    Frameworks Parts 1 -4
XXV.    Module 25: Interconnecting Systems
                A.    Interconnecting Systems Parts 1 – 2
XXVI.    Module 26: Security Services
                A.    Security Services Parts 1 – 4
XXVII.    Module 27: Continuous Monitoring
                A.    Continuous Monitoring Parts 1 – 4
XXVIII.    Module 28: Incident Handling
                A.    Incident Handling Parts 1 – 4
XXIX.    Module 29: Forensic & Incident Response
                A.    Forensic and Incident Response Part 1
XXX.    Module 30: Requirements Processing
                A.    Requirements Processing Parts 1 – 3
XXXI.    Module 31: Standards Bodies
                A.    Standards Bodies
XXXII.    Module 32: Secure System Life Cycle
                A.    Secure System Life Cycle Parts 1 – 3
XXXIII.    Module 33: Email
                A.    Email
XXXIV.    Module 34: Mobile and BYOD
                A.    Mobile and BYOD Parts 1 – 2
XXXV.    Module 35: Voiceover IP
                A.    Voice over IP
XXXVI.    Module 36: Physical Facilities Assessment Process
                A.    Physical Facilities Assessment Process Parts 1 – 2
XXXVII.    Module 37: Security Requirements Traceability Matrix
                A.    Security Requirements Traceability Matrix



This program is entirely online and is completed at your own pace. When you register, you receive six (6) months to complete this program.

CEUs: 5.0

Fee: $995